1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

Advice on Build

mr_han_solo mr_han_solo
New User | Posts: 8 | Joined: 08/13
Posted: 08/19/13
05:35 PM

Hello,

I am wanting to build a 350CI Gen1 Small Block Chevy for my 260Z SCCA car. Now I have been through the rule book and realize that this engine will put me in a totally different class where I will have to spend a lot of time and money to ever be competitive. However, after reading some things this seems to be a swap that a lot of people do. My plan is to build the engine and mate it to a built t-5 transmission. I am a college student, so this is something I am trying to do on a low budget per the winter. Honestly, I know that I am going to be investing some money in this project so I am prepared for that aspect of things, I just don't want it to get out of control.

As for the engine I already have the four bolt main block. As I previously stated my goal is to build this engine for SCCA as the 260 is my SCCA car. In my mind I'm wanting to do a DZ302 homage with the 350. I am already looking into a cross ram setup, and as my primary goal is autocross and club racing, I am wanting something that makes power in the high rpm range. However, I also want to be able to drive the car to the events so running on 93 octane is a must. I have purchased several books (How to hotrod your small block, how to rebuild a small block, smokey yunick's power secrets, etc.) and have been reading them to familiarize myself with this project.