Chevy High Performance
1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

Electrical difficultys, Truck won't start any more

beachj89 beachj89
New User | Posts: 6 | Joined: 03/13
Posted: 03/30/13
12:04 PM

I am new to restoring older vehicles and I recently bought a 74 Chevy K10. I Drove the truck 200 miles home with no problems to the motor or ignition, but when I went to trying to track down a problem with the brake light/blinker I unhooked the ground cable and forgot to hook it back up, it sparked a few times and when I shut everything down the lights were glowing hot. That being said now the truck wont start and the battery will not hold a charge, I'm going to buy a new battery this afternoon and change out the turn signal switch, but I still don't think that is the root of the problem. When I hook up the battery charger and turn the ignition it just clicks and blows the acc fuse.

Any advice would be appreciated I'm kind of new to all this and I bought the truck to help teach myself with.
Thank you  

76Skylark 76Skylark
Guru | Posts: 854 | Joined: 12/11
12:36 PM

the Killed Battery won't let the low amperage of the charger get to the starter. That's the jest of it but wayne will fill in the Details he can explane better than I.  

87vorteccamaro 87vorteccamaro
New User | Posts: 41 | Joined: 03/13
12:43 PM

Bypass the battery all together just to get it started??  

pepsi1 pepsi1
Guru | Posts: 1718 | Joined: 09/11
03:10 PM

When a vehicle sits for any length of time things happen really quick. All you need is one mouse making home in the wires and that could be a nightmare.
Before you hook up your new battery;
Check for poor grounds, loose connections, spliced wires, where a mouse may have chewed through etc. erc. With that all said.

One other thing BEFORE INSTALLING YOUR NEW BATTERY AND HOOKING IT UP!