Supercharger vs procharger Sbc 355

Chevy High Performance
Item Posts    Sort Order

Supercharger vs procharger Sbc 355

Newkid355sbc Newkid355sbc
New User | Posts: 3 | Joined: 03/13
Posted: 03/10/13
06:17 PM

Hi everyone, I'm new to this small block world I recently purchased a g body cutlass had a stock Sbc 305 from a monte in it when I purchased it. I quickly ditched that an upgraded to mild sb 350 4 bolt main but that wasn't enough either so I pulled the motor again an sent it to the machine shop. Long story short its currently a 355 with with an eagle rotating assembly , rhs 200cc heads 1.5 roller rockers comp mutha thumpr cam vic jr intake 750 carb th350 trans shift kit 3500 stall decent little motor for my first car. But it's still not enough, I'm trying to decide another route to go with my project but can't decide weather to supercharge with a weiand 144 or a p-1sc procharger ??? I really would like input from you all on a detaliled effective engine build either supercharged or procharged since I'm new to this an nobody else in my family is into this sort of thing I don't know where to turn to for advice I've got a budget of around $5k any help would be appreciated, thanks!  

xFourLeaf xFourLeaf
User | Posts: 62 | Joined: 01/13
06:46 PM

First off you're gonna need to lower your compresion to about 8.5/1. A supercharger will make more horsepower than a pro charger, simply because it will suck in more air. Pro charger is gonna cost less. However I wouldn't put either of those on your motor. You can find horsepower in other places at a cheaper price. Not sure if you are going for a daily driver or a drag car?  
xFourLeafxFourLeaf

07:13 PM