1 |  2 |  3 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

Building a 355 Small Block

connorIROC connorIROC
New User | Posts: 42 | Joined: 05/11
Posted: 05/29/11
04:13 PM

Hey everybody,

My name is Connor and I'm somewhat new to engine mechanics. I bought a 1987 305 TPI IROC Camaro about a year ago and although that 305 is a pretty mean motor, I wanted a 350. I have done a lot of research on engine mechanics over the past 7 months or so and I have done some beginner auto work such as replacing fuel injectors, fixing fuel pumps, and replacing a rear end in mainly third gen Camaros, but I finally realized that if I am to do an engine swap, I can't learn too much if I can't get my hands dirty.

I was looking at some pre-built motors, but I have so much fun working on my car that I decided that I want to build an engine myself. So, yesterday I found my engine after 6 months of searching. It is a 4-bolt main 350 bored over .60. I got the engine, some 400cid 76cc ported and polished heads, a set of Keith Black pistons (Part #KB119-60), a Weiand TEAM G intake (Part #7530), a 1182 forged crankshaft, some timing chains, a harmonic balancer, some pushrods (I plan on replacing those), a flywheel, and a chrome oilpan and chrome timing cover all for $325. The guy I got it from even threw in an engine stand for me. He said that he had put the motor together for a guy and he put it in his El Camino, took it out, dissassembled it, and then gave it back to him in pieces. He said he had taken the motor to an engine shop and they inspected the cylinder walls and said they are in good shape,  but I know I will have to get most of the parts cleaned up at an engine shop and inspected for cracks. I though it was worth the risk at that price.