Chevy High Performance
1 |  2 |  Next   | Last 
Item Posts    Sort Order

A 1970 Chevy Malibu needs help!!!ahhh

Ch3vyMal1bu70 Ch3vyMal1bu70
New User | Posts: 13 | Joined: 12/09
Posted: 12/24/09
03:34 AM

drove my dream car home and it'd become the worst nightmare ever!!

my car goes like this.
my 1970 chevy malibu shut down on me while driving on the freeway.
2-3 times trying to get it to start back up again i'd gave up and did not want to put any damage to it.so then i added some gasoline to the tank and gave it twice to the ignition and did not work.2-3 more times it'd fire back up but weak and gradually the engine raw.heres another thing i noticed when i was driving the car home.there was a smell like an oil burn or some kind of burn coming from the engine?inside?...not too sure..the smell was only pleasant at times.so what does this tell me my chevy lover??..im new to muscle cars and i would like to know more.

&

i was told from the owner that i should get a tune up but do not do the spark plug and wires cause i don't need to
and also do the flush and drain for anti-cooler(all fluid/liq. only he said) because the car has been just sitting there and was probably driven 3-5 times a month or not even.

is that right
or was i mislead with that fluid infor???

please help this Chevy Beauty!!!!

HAPPY HOLIDAYS AND BEST TO WISHES!!! Cool  

p2-72chevelle383 p2-72chevelle383
Guru | Posts: 1757 | Joined: 08/09
07:35 AM

first thing i would check are the plugs and wires.see if any wires are off the plugs,burnt,or off on the cap.if not then check your plugs to see if any are fouled and why.it also would probably be a good idea to change the oil and check the coolant to make sure its not old or low,who knows how well this guy took care of the car.if none of this works then look at your carb and fuel pump,to see if they are delivering gas to the motor.also make sure that burning smell wasnt any of your ignition wires by the firewall burning and arcing under there.